Technology at work

Last night at work one of my coworkers was putting in his time. He hadn’t created a shortcut, so it took him about 10 minutes to get to the time entry page. A lady I work with walked him through how to make a short cut. He got his shortcut created when the Internet cut out. He thought she wrecked the computer. He then attempted to log into his e mail, but since the Internet was down it wouldn’t work. I’m trying to explain that the Internet isn’t working, therefore he can’t connect to his e-mail. He believed that since he didn’t actually click on Internet explorer his e mail/time entry wasn’t connected to the Internet. By this time he was angry while my coworker and I continued to explain why his e mail and time entry wouldn’t work. It probably doesn’t help that our computers at work are old and extremely slow.
While I was laughing I realized that this is definitely a teachable moment. It just shows how technology has become more prominent in the younger generation. We (younger generation) rely on and use technology every day where my coworkers would rather read a paper and look up a definition in the dictionary.

3 thoughts on “Technology at work

  1. It must be hilarious to watch him deal with computers which is totally not his cup of tea! Today technology has become an integral part of our lives and we are so into it that without it we feel lost or incomplete. The coming generation is even smarter in this field but we never think about the older generation. What about them? How do they cope with this drastic change? How well are they able to adapt with the changing needs? Are they getting proper guidance?

    Thanks for sharing this experience of yours! These little moments are in itself a learning experience 🙂

    1. I’m not sure that a lot of the older generation is fully adapting to technology. Some of them may very well be, while some will not. My grandma doesn’t even have a computer or cell phone, but my baba has a cell phone and can text well. She even wants an iPhone. A while back there was a technology event for the
      elderly in my hometown. This would be beneficial for people like my grandma. It would be nice to see more of these events. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Hey Jenna, I agree with you that technology become more prominent in younger generation. We are totally dependent on these new things for even the smaller aspects of life and also use of technology has made the classroom more interesting and meaningful.

Leave a comment